You are currently viewing PSL 8 2023 | Pakistan Super League 8th Edition

PSL 8 2023 | Pakistan Super League 8th Edition

Everyone is want to know about PSL 8. The Pakistan Super League (PSL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league held annually in Pakistan. It was founded by Najam Sethi, who is also the chairman of the board of governors of Cricbuzz. The inaugural edition of the tournament took place between February 4–16, 2016. The PSL was launched in 2016 and has since become the biggest sporting event in Pakistan.

It is a franchise-based tournament where teams from around the globe compete against each other. Each team consists of players from their home country and some international stars. 

Establishment of Pakistan Super League (PSL)

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) was launched in September 2015 by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). Former Pakistani national team Wasim Akram and Rameez Rajah signed up to promote the league and become brand ambassadors for three years. After many years of planning and two failed attempts, the league finally started on 4 February 2016 in Dubai where the daughter of the former president of Pakistan, Mr. 10% Asif Ali Zardari along with Sheikh Nahyan bin Mubarak al Nahyan inaugurated the opening ceremony of the league.

The first two seasons included five different teams based on the capital city of each province and the Federal capital. The PSL used a draft system for player selection similar to that used in most North American professional sports leagues. The PSL also used an auction system for player recruitment instead of the draft system.

Pakistan Super League (PSL) is an annual Twenty20 cricket league held in Pakistan. The first season was played in 2016, and the second season started in 2017.

Pakistan Super League Schedule

  • 1st Edition: Feb 5 – Mar 1, 2016
  • 2nd Edition: Feb 19 – Mar 4, 2017
  • 3rd Edition: Feb 16 – Mar 6, 2018
  • 4th Edition: Feb 21 – Mar 8, 2019
  • 5th Edition: Feb 26 – Mar 12, 2020
  • 6th Edition: Feb 28 – Mar 13, 2021
  • 7th Edition: Feb 27 – Mar 14, 2022
  • 8th Edition: Feb 24 – Mar 11, 2023
  • 9th Edition: Feb 23 – Mar 12, 2024
  • 10th Edition: Feb 22 – Mar 11, 2025

 The expected schedule of PSL 8 is 24 February – March 11, 2023.

Teams of Pakistan Super League (PSL 8)

Around 20 parties showed interest to buy franchises for the league before its first season. On 18 Oct 2015, the PCB began accepting bids for franchises with a deadline of 15 Nov 2015. Bid winners would be granted the right to a franchise for a period of 10 years.

Interested parties include the ARY Group, the Omar Associates, the Arif Habib Group, and the Haier Mobilink. All five franchises for the inaugural season were sold on 3 December 2016, for a total price tag of $93 million.

At the start of PSL, the PSL started with 5 teams and in the sixth edition,  a new team was added. The total number of teams is now 6.

  • Multan Sultan
  • Islamabad United
  • Lahore Qalandars
  • Peshawar Zalmi
  • Quetta Gladiators
  • Karachi Kings

Venues of PSL 8

 PSL 7 played at National Stadium Karachi and Qadafi Stadium Lahore. It is expected that 2 more venues will be added in PSL 8.

  • National Stadium, Karachi
  • Qadafi Stadium, Lahore
  • Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi
  • Peshawar Cricket Stadium
Previous Post:

Leave a Reply